Of Gods and Men
13+

Of Gods and Men

("Des Hommes et des Dieux" in French) Drama with Lambert Wilson & Michael Lonsdale 2h02m 7.440
Age  1-12 13-17 18-25 26-35 36-49 50+ Total
Men 
votes 
-
0
3
1
8
1
3
1
5.7
4
8
12
7.1
20
Women 
votes 
-
0
-
0
-
0
1
1
6.7
3
7.7
8
7.1
15
Total 
votes 
-
0
3
1
8
1
2
2
6.1
7
8
21
7.3
41
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
Select options to filter reviews by age and sex
7.3
41

This is a beautiful movie. When we hear about the trouble in the church today this movie show you that there is and was some church men that were very humble that helped the people around them. Praise the Lord!

8
nlefebvre@ 4.7.2011   reply age: 36-49   1st review

Very transcending and inspiring!!!

10
cielo2053@ 12.6.2011   reply age: 50+   1st review

Very profound. I enjoyed it every minute. A great mediation about love and dedication.

10
houseinajax@ 16.5.2011   reply age: 50+   1st review

Monks choose their way of life, in part, to exchange the anxieties and superficialities of life for a more sublime, contemplative existence. What brilliance on the director's part to do the same in his choice of pacing and attention to detail in the cinematography. It is so interesting to see the comments of those who disliked it... without exception, their criticisms betray an addiction to haste. How perfect.

8
timhildy@ 29.4.2011   reply age: 36-49   1st review

This film is about blind faith and devotion. That being said... I was happy when it came to its grinding conclusion.

4
bwp33@ 29.4.2011   reply age: 50+   60 reviews

I felt like I sat through church for a hundred years. They could have done so much with this story. Three of us wanted to leave. Nothing happens.

2
dpm71@ 25.4.2011   reply age: 36-49   1st review

I found this movie to be sublime and even meditative. I'm so glad I saw it.

10

Yes, it is slow, but it is amazing with a deep emotional impact.

10
mrdocoman@ 19.4.2011   reply age: 36-49   1st review

Des Hommes Et Des Dieux is a poignant movie about a part of our society. Unfairly knocked out of the Oscar short list representing Algeria by considerably mediocre "Hors La Loi", this movie is a powerhouse. What is really entertaining and amusing in a bunch of elderly people talking about society and morals? Xavier Beauvois is compelling and imposing, we believe in every single character, we believe in their honestly, their humanism. By being a so-called teenage/adult myself I really enjoyed this movie. The humanity and the authenticity of Beauvois's tale is breathtaking, the actor lead and supporting are true and brutally honest in their performance. This is the kind of movie that will spice up conversation around the world; this movie should have gotten nominated in the Oscar's because it is my favourite foreign movie this year so far. Thumbs Up to Xavier Beauvois, the actors and the humanity of this epic story.

8
jonhamms@ 18.4.2011   reply age: 18-25   51 reviews

ATTENTION: This review reveals content of the movie.
As a devout Catholic this film was supposed to be tailor made for me but it fell far short of my lofty expectations. A few weeks ago on a Saturday I attended French mass at the chapel in a convent and the following morning French Eucharistic services at a church. The theme was turning the other cheek. The priest sat down with the children around the altar explaining that all of us even the most saintly have done bad things to others and would be considered enemies from their point of view. However in this film the monks took over the mantle of the gods believing all their actions were righteous and above reproach. The major achievement of this film was the way the individual personalities of the monks were laid bare in meticulous detail allowing us to see into their train of thought. Yet I was yearning to learn more about their backgrounds. The change of seasons showed how their duties and responsibilities changed over time. But by neglecting to mention the brutal Algerian War of Independence this film had no historical context to explain events that occurred. It was a big mistake to highlight the parts of the mass that never change. I have attended over 2000 masses in my lifetime and this dulled my interest. I rather would have liked hearing their sermons and confessions. The medication should not have been kept at the monastery but instead at a neighborhood clinic. It was always a useful pretext for terrorists to invade their compound. The monks could have opened channels with the terrorists by visiting their homes but did not. I got the impression that the monks believed that Catholics of Algerian descent would be incapable of running their religious institution which was a downright silly reason for them to stay. The natives would better understand the local culture and create far less animosity. Back in France they could have done great deeds like Abbe Pierre who was voted most revered Frenchman of the 20th century. Refusing the help of the military was another nonsensical decision on their part. They stated that they would never accept help from corrupt governments but even our most respected democracies are hobbled by their own scandals. For these religious figures I was really repulsed by their lack of humility. They never admitted to any of their faults. I was most upset when these monks were taken hostage but there was no follow-up regarding negotiations. Their own French government seemed to have abandoned them. I did not learn much at all from this film.

6
talko@ 17.4.2011   reply age: 50+   7 reviews - one reply

Useless movie, no sound track, no action, nothing to remember, I was counting minute to get out of the movie, I can't beleive I stayed for 1 hour. Boring Boring Boring! You will waist your time and money.

1
krazysalsa@ 17.4.2011   reply age: 26-35   1st review

A quietly luminous portrayal of real human beings grappling with difficult moral and spiritual issues. Not to be missed.

9
macht1007@ 12.4.2011   reply   1st review

I found it insufferable. I'm a bigtime fan of well-made movies - I wish I'd walked out of this one.

1
ngoanquoc@ 10.4.2011   reply   1st review

Great illustration of how we could rise above the divisional silos of religion to find true spiritual connection across humanity.

9
slatimer@ 4.4.2011   reply age: 50+   1st review

It's a materpiece, but I'm not saying that you should see it. It's really a matter of taste. I think this story is a great example of how innocent people get caught up in war.

10
micky@ 3.4.2011   reply age: 36-49   73 reviews

OMG! Did I see the same movie as everyone else? This may have been one of the most indulgent movies I have seen in a very, very long time. Painfully slow moving, artful to the point of absurd and utterly fixated on being unnecessarily profound. This is the type of film that reinforces stereotypes of French cinema. It took every bit of my power to remain in my seat throughout its duration.

3
hershey13@ 2.4.2011   reply age: 36-49   1st review

No need to be believer or agnostic. Just a jewel of a movie. The bright colours and the somber ones artfully combined. Christians in a Muslim village living in perfect harmony until interested parties intervene. And the reaching of Nirvana while playing music by a Jewish composer. A real poem.

9

Lame. Slow slow slow moving, depressing!

2
pierre1977@ 26.3.2011   reply age: 36-49   2 reviews

Austere, really austere. Men of God abandonned by the latter in a land devoid of gods. Less emphasis on prayer and more on character development would have greatly raised the level of this film, far too respectful. A true story of a forgotten drama. At least the film makes us aware of it.

6
o6numbersix@ 25.3.2011   reply age: 50+   104 reviews

So slow that before the movie ended I felt the urge to "gnaw my limbs off with boredom" - uni-dimensional, not at all what I expected. However, having said this, the scenic beauty was breathtaking. I guess a believer might have appreciated the content more than I.

3
lastonish@ 24.3.2011   reply age: 50+   1st review

An extremely well done film. Beautiful in many ways. Deals in a very human way with tough choices and what we want out of life. Really resonates afterwards. The film maker has done an amazing job of using landscape and sound to shape the film. Don't go see this if you can't deal with something that is less about plot than about character and other aspects of film making. The director had a sure hand with the pacing but it won't appeal to some.

10
belro19@ 20.3.2011   reply age: 50+   143 reviews

The movie is not a Hollywood masterpiece, but it gives you serenity and a distance to this corrupted world. Go, watch it, cry with the monks, and then go out and see how fragile our existence is, how futile are things we relay upon. I loved everything about this movie - the story, though tragic, but true; the music and religious chants, being broken by the sound of firearms, the slow pace...

9
annaswid@ 20.3.2011   reply age: 50+   2 reviews - one reply

A beautiful movie about Love and compassion - our link to the Divine. Although this is the most obvious theme, there are many others including the dichotomy of how true believers (in any faith) can commit atrocities in the name of their religion. Although the movie looks at a fundamentalist muslim event in history, we cannot but reflect on the atrocities that Christians, and others, have perpetrated over the millennia as well. The monk's letter says it for all of us who wonder.

9
glegh@ 15.3.2011   reply age: 50+   118 reviews

This true story is inspirational, a modern-day episode of choosing a risky path but one that spoke to their souls. Don't let the periods of calm depicting the monastic life deter you -- let yourself understand their world and the important role they played in their region.

8

Note: Reviews posted on this page reflect personal opinions of our users. We are not responsible for their content.

Did you see ''Of Gods and Men''?

Add your rating here and you could WIN free tickets!!!

How do you rate this movie?

Select stars from 1 to 10.
10 - A masterpiece, go, see it now
9 - Excellent movie, a must see
8 - Great movie, don't miss it
7 - Good movie, worth seeing
6 - Not bad, could be much better
5 - So so, worth if you don't pay
4 - Not good, even if you don't pay
3 - Poor movie, not recommended
2 - Very bad, forget about it
1 - Worst ever, avoid at all costs


Please explain. Write your comment here:



Sign your review:


Your age and gender:


Your e-mail:

Your e-mail address will remain confidential.
We will send a confirmation of your comment by e-mail.
We publish all reviews, except abusive, at our discretion.

Terms and Privacy Policy
© 1996-2016 Cinema Clock® Canada Inc.
All rights reserved.
About Ad Blockers
We agree. You are not here to view ads. The problem is that we have no choice.

Technically, Adblockers explicitly modify the intended functionality of a website. They are not perfect, and unfortunately they interfere by blocking or disabling parts of our website which are not even related to ads.

And even more important is the fact that we wouldn't exist without advertising. It is the only source of revenue to keep this website free. Accepting to see ads on our website is a very small price to pay to show appreciation for our work. And it's a lot of work to maintain a website like ours.

Please support us by “whitelisting” or “allowing” ads on our website.

Thank you :-)



Click here after whitelisting our website
Thank you!