Half Nelson
13+

Half Nelson

Drama with Ryan Gosling & Shareeka Epps 1h46m 7.832
Age  1-12 13-17 18-25 26-35 36-49 50+ Total
Men 
votes 
-
0
9
1
3.5
2
8.2
4
7.7
6
6.7
4
7.3
18
Women 
votes 
-
0
-
0
8
3
9.3
3
8
4
8
2
8.3
12
Total 
votes 
-
0
9
1
6.2
5
8.9
9
7.8
10
7.2
6
7.8
32
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
Select options to filter reviews by age and sex
7.8
32

Excellent showcase for the talents of Ryan Gosling. This guy definitely has a long, brilliant career ahead of him..

8
frostbiteboy@ 14.2.2007   reply age: 36-49   67 reviews

A brilliant low budget film. Deservedly has received 6 independent spirit award nominations and will win best actor award for Goslings tremendous performance. Sharika Epps matches him step by step. Overabundant use of the shaky camera technique is its only drawback. Kudos to the directors/writers as well.

9

Ryan Gosling is one of the finest actors of my generation. As high school teacher and crack addict dan dunne his presence penetrates through the screen. This film is nothing less than a masterpeice. I urge anyone who feels passionate abour filmmaking (or teaching)- go see it.

10
carinschwartz@ 26.11.2006   reply age: 26-35   1st review

Ryan Gosling gives an Oscar-worthy performance as an innovative, effective teacher in an inner-city school who has more than his share of personal demons to conquer, not the least of which is addiction to crack. It's nice to see an indie flick with a well-written script make it to the big screen, particularly one that doesn't cater to audience expectations or Hollywood cliches. Shakeera Epps is also good as the student who cares about her teacher but struggles with the battles of growing up in a broken home with a confusing array of role models to consider. Looking forward to more from this director and these actors in the future.

8
dmacpherson12@ 1.11.2006   reply age: 36-49   32 reviews

This film has a brilliant sundtrack, great acting, powerful dialogue and just brilliant cinematography. Gorgeous!

10

Great movie. Avoids all the cliches and does everything else well. The acting is superb, even if everything is not spoken, you can really feel for these characters.

9
mich84@ 11.10.2006   reply age: 26-35   125 reviews

Fantastic, intelligent movie. Ryan's acting in amazing, as is Shareeka's. Not cliche, but real and raw. Superb acting.

10
illuminati_light@ 9.10.2006   reply age: 26-35   2 reviews

I don't get the people that dont like this movie. It's really wonderful. The acting is superb.

10

It was extremely lame. After already half an hour I was wondering if this movie was ever going to end. Terrible movie!

2
andreas.kurz@ 5.10.2006   reply age: 18-25   2 reviews

I really was touched by the akward relationship between the teacher and the student. Ryan really looked zombie-like in many scenes and played the addict very well.

8
soni@ 2.10.2006   reply age: 26-35   67 reviews

I am a bit biased about this movie. Before the movie I was told that "teacher has a relationship with his student" and in my dirty mind I imagined something Lolita-esque. So the whole time I was dreading something inapropriate. However, that at least got me through through the movie. It was very slow, without spesific direction. So the way it ended, well, it could have ended any other way.

5

Yeah - I have to admit I was pretty bored to death!!!

6
autumn@ 23.9.2006   reply age: 26-35   1st review

This film moves forward as much on what goes unsaid as on its sparse and realistic dialog. Everything is played out subtly, with Dan and Drey absorbing into their personal realities the difficult events that mark the beginning of their friendship. The movie is not "fun" in the usual sense. We don't feel liberated or relieved when it is over, just happy to be alive and to still have choices.

8
dbeeson@ 23.9.2006   reply age: 36-49   2 reviews

Great movie! Good performance by Ryan and Shareeka Epps...

8
sentenza99@ 21.9.2006   reply age: 26-35   631 reviews

Extremely touching and human. This is a character film so don't go expecting action.

10

This movie was sooo slow. It has a good idea behind it, but I felt like time literally stopped for 2 hours. I walked our really disappointed. I don't recommend this movie at all, even if you've got a whole day to waste, it's not even worth it.

4

A apart from grainy shooting and loose camera work this film makes it up with its foundation; a poignant story line. The acting is more than ok and this one almost comes full circle to a dark end. Recommended.

8
black.jack@ 18.9.2006   reply age: 36-49   463 reviews

Ryan Gosling is without a doubt one of the most promising actors (if not the most promising) actor of his generation. Actually, he goes way beyond being just promising, he IS an acomplished actor. After seeing this movie and seing The Notebook and Stay, there is very little doubt that he can flawlessly portray passion and torment on the big screen. He's done convincingly here. However, I am still waiting for the motion picture that will establish him as a bona-fide hollywood superstar. I sincerely hope the academy will not overlook this performance for an oscar, because he has that much talent and although the film in itself is not revolutionary or even entertaining to watch, his performance truly is marvelous, flawless, almost too natural for him. So that pretty much sums up my opinion on this movie: Ryan Gosling is one of the most talented actors of his generation and carries this movie from start to finish... and that is not to say that shakeera Epps isn't an incredible young talented actress herself, but Ryan Gosling unwillingly steals te show. The movie itself could have been great. It touches on numerous subjects that could have been better developped to inspire the viewer. Helas. Ryan's performance: 10/10 Actual Movie (storyline,.. ): 6/10 I gave it a 7/10 because I do not think the movie is great, simply the performance.

7
steven@ 17.9.2006   reply age: 36-49   897 reviews

Wonderful acting, sad and funny. Although some may find the movie slow - moving, this is not necessarily a bad thing and it's part of the realism. No Hollywood - style endings here... just real life.

8
lstorr@ 17.9.2006   reply age: 36-49   1st review

A great title. Raw. Simultaneously harsh and loving. No goopy shmaltz. Luxuriously bare bones. Outstanding performances. Ryan Fleck, Anna Boden; wow!

10
ummiammi@ 16.9.2006   reply age: 36-49   3 reviews

Note: Reviews posted on this page reflect personal opinions of our users. We are not responsible for their content.

Did you see ''Half Nelson''?

Add your rating here and you could WIN free tickets!!!

How do you rate this movie?

Select stars from 1 to 10.
10 - A masterpiece, go, see it now
9 - Excellent movie, a must see
8 - Great movie, don't miss it
7 - Good movie, worth seeing
6 - Not bad, could be much better
5 - So so, worth if you don't pay
4 - Not good, even if you don't pay
3 - Poor movie, not recommended
2 - Very bad, forget about it
1 - Worst ever, avoid at all costs


Please explain. Write your comment here:



Sign your review:


Your age and gender:


Your e-mail:

Your e-mail address will remain confidential.
We will send a confirmation of your comment by e-mail.
We publish all reviews, except abusive, at our discretion.

Terms and Privacy Policy
© 1996-2016 Cinema Clock® Canada Inc.
All rights reserved.
About Ad Blockers
We agree. You are not here to view ads. The problem is that we have no choice.

Technically, Adblockers explicitly modify the intended functionality of a website. They are not perfect, and unfortunately they interfere by blocking or disabling parts of our website which are not even related to ads.

And even more important is the fact that we wouldn't exist without advertising. It is the only source of revenue to keep this website free. Accepting to see ads on our website is a very small price to pay to show appreciation for our work. And it's a lot of work to maintain a website like ours.

Please support us by “whitelisting” or “allowing” ads on our website.

Thank you :-)



Click here after whitelisting our website
Thank you!