5150 Elm's Way

    Age  1-12 13-17 18-25 26-35 36-49 50+ Total
    Men 
    votes 
    -
    0
    7.7
    3
    -
    0
    7
    1
    8
    1
    3
    1
    6.8
    6
    Women 
    votes 
    -
    0
    9
    1
    -
    0
    -
    0
    9
    2
    2
    1
    7.2
    5
    Total 
    votes 
    -
    0
    8
    4
    -
    0
    7
    1
    8.7
    3
    2.5
    2
    7
    11
    *Total includes those who didn't specify gender.


    User Reviews

    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    6
    7
    8
    9
    10
    Select options to filter reviews by age and sex
    7.0
    11 reviews

    It is scary a little but surprisingly good.

    6/10
    noahprevost45@ 5.2.2010   reply age: 13-17   1st review

    I read the book and the movie is even better.

    10/10
    superdave_111@ 5.11.2009   reply age: 13-17   1st review

    Honestly, i've never been a fan of french movies, but this one shockingly surprised me. The story was well thought out although it took long to get to a rising point, but it was well played out until the end. The only thing that bugged me about the movie was that I was told it was supposed to be scary when we went to watch it with my school, but it definitely was not. The only somewhat scary part was at the very end, I will not ruin it for others... Anyways, in the end I thought it was still quite interesting and I'm excited to see more form this director/author.

    7/10
    karim_tennis93@ 26.10.2009   reply age: 13-17   1st review

    J'ai vraiment aime ce film. C'était un film qu'on devait aller voir avec l'ecole mais j'irais le voir encore toute seule. C'était bon car on savait jamias qu'est-ce qui allait arriver et la fin était extremement inattendu mais je vais pas le dire ici. Va le voir, tu vas être surpris...

    9/10
    mandy53535@ 25.10.2009   reply age: 13-17   1st review

    Very bad. Good actors-wrong story. Completely implausible with logic lapses. Likened to Texas Chainsaw (ugh) Favorable reviews must be written by members of production cuz this is a b-a-d movie. Don't waste your $ or time. Only murder junkies would like this movie. I am bilingual & saw it in french.

    2/10

    They call him the Stephen King of Quebec for a reason... his novels push the envelope, like King did in his writing prime, and they make for excellent movies, albeit with a lot of hard to watch scenes, again just like King! His name is Patrick Senécal, and this is the 2nd movie based on one of his books. The first one was Evil Words (Sur le seuil) He writes or co-writes his screenplays as well, which definitely helps keep the movies close to the intended feeling in the books. The performances by the actors in this film were solid, especially the husband and wife characters. If only actors in thrillers could actually win acting awards!!! The pace of this movie is steady. The cinematography goes from average to visually stunning, so a surprising mix. And the ending is... pure Senécalesque! Another bravo for Quebec cinema. 8/10, great movie, don't miss it... and get ready for the next Senécal book coming to a theater near you in February... the one everyone has been waiting for... 7 Days (Les 7 jours du Talion)

    8/10
    rimbaud1972@ 15.10.2009   reply age: 36-49   239 reviews - 2 replies

    Great movie, you have to see this movie. The adaptation is wonderful, the suspence is edgy, the actors are so convincing and when Yannick reaches the point of no return in his madness is a pivotal point in the movie. Here, here to Québec filmakers.

    9/10
    icidebv@ 12.10.2009   reply age: 36-49   2 reviews

    This is a must see movie. I'm an anglophone and I'm not really into French movies but this one is one of the best suspence movies in quite a while (English or French) The actors are convincing, you really get into their caracters. Bravo to Patrick Sénécal, can't wait to see more of your books come to life!

    9/10

    Wow, what a mishmash. First of all, the chess thing doesn't work. One cannot have won championships playing always white; one cannot be a champion beginning with 1.g4 followed by Nh3. The final game in a basement that doesn't have enough space for 64 squares is ridiculous. The vigilante part doesn't work either. Beaulieu is slipshod in his picking of the criminals, in the execution of the murders, in the assessment of his daughter and wife. And we are asked to believe that he leaves nothing hanging on the board. Go rent "The Star Chamber" or "Misery" and forget about this one.

    3/10
    hapnob@ 12.10.2009   reply age: 50+   11 reviews - one reply

    I didn't read the book prior to seeing this movie. The story is good and the actors are great. Somehow, I didn't care much for this movie and found it boring. The events occuring were predictable, and I felt as if this movie tasted like wine and water ; diluted. I'm not a big fan of movies made in Québec, nor am I of american blockbusters. Would have it been filmed in the USA, this movie might have had a bigger punch to it. I get that psychological thrillers are often slow paced, and I have no problem with that, but this one was plain boring. Sadly, this movie will probably get an average of a 9 or 10 and I wouldn't be surprised. The book may be great, but the movie isn't. You should check Stephen King's Misery ; it's much better.

    7/10
    olivier@ 10.10.2009   reply age: 26-35   137 reviews

    If you are a fan of Patrick Sénecal, and liked his former film Sur le seuil--you will enjoy this psychological thriller of a movie where actors perform brilliantly. There are scenes of violence, killing ans some sxcenes that may disturb some people. It is a good Québec film!

    7/10

    Note: The reviews posted on this page are personal opinions of our users. We are not responsible for their content.

    Did you see ''5150 Elm's Way''?

    Write a movie review and you could WIN free tickets!!! (details about the contest)

    How do you rate this movie?



    Please explain. Write your comment here:



    Sign your review:


    Your age and gender:


    Your e-mail:

    Your e-mail will remain confidential.
    We will only send a confirmation of your comment by e-mail.
    We reserve the right to reject comments at our discretion.


    Terms and Privacy Policy
    © 1996-2015 Cinema Clock® Canada Inc.
    All rights reserved.