Super 8
G

Super 8

Science-fiction with Elle Fanning & Kyle Chandler 1h52m 7.2230
Age  1-12 13-17 18-25 26-35 36-49 50+ Total
Men 
votes 
8.3
7
8.4
10
7.4
18
6.9
26
6.8
51
6.5
34
7
147
Women 
votes 
8
4
7.7
12
7.5
10
6.8
23
7.7
15
7.6
10
7.4
76
Total 
votes 
8.2
11
8
23
7.5
28
6.9
50
6.9
71
6.8
46
7.1
233
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
Select options to filter reviews by age and sex
7.1
233

It was good. Nothing special. A little anti-climatic however. But a good concept.

7
wes@ 15.2.2016   reply age: 26-35   89 reviews

J. J. Abrams does really have a dangerous mind. I wonder what Star Trek Into Darkness is going to be like.

10
chw@ 19.1.2013   reply age: 1-12   337 reviews

Very reminiscient of some of the early Spielberg films, like Poltergeist. The scenes featuring the kids and their interaction are stellar. Fun likable movie, some of the lines are great, but the script falls apart when it comes to the adult roles and the cargo of the train. It is really hard to suspend disbelief about the major plot elements. Still a very enjoyable movie, and for someone who was a kid back in 1979 it is like travelling back in time 30 years.

7
dominic@ 17.6.2012   reply age: 50+   409 reviews

ATTENTION: This review reveals content of the movie.
This movie by the director Steven Spielberg and the producer J. J Abrams with Elle Fanning and Joel Courtney for main actors is simply interesting. Friends shoot a scary amateur movie when a train crash occur. They think is it not an accident, so they want to solve the mystery. The movie was AWESOME. All of it was great. The actors were concentrated and they were the best actors to do this movie. Sometime, the actors were funniest or the most dramatic, it depends. The decor was on Earth or under the surface. The movie was mostly in dark because it's the night, so the night was darker than a power failure. Special effects were the most impressive that I saw with a creature and her house under the surface, her strident scream and the crazy war machines. It's a catastrophe movie, so the specials effects were big. The music goes with the cast. When one sad thing occurred, the music was sadder. I recommend it to people who are 13 years old or older to watch it and to people who like special effects and catastrophe movies.

9
deschenesf16@ 22.12.2011   reply age: 13-17   1st review

The movie was ok, but I was expecting something great (which it wasn't) I didn't mind pausing the movie for a few hours and continuing it later. I was curious to see where it was taking me, but didn't really care that much.

6
zygoto78@ 5.12.2011   reply age: 26-35   293 reviews

ATTENTION: This review reveals content of the movie.
This movie was so-so. There are many gaps in the storyline which makes it so hard to believe. I know it was based in 1979 but come on, can the military be that bad? I mean can you really tell me that cargo that important had absolutely no escort what so ever? How is it possible that the military at certain points in the movie can let people come and go whenever they please (shelter) and allow people to be so close to important areas (Scientist's home) I would put more detail but I don't want to ruin it for the people who didn't see it. The only thing that was decent was the "kid's" acting. The "adult's" acting was not up to par. But I guess this type of movie was not made based on character development but SCI-FI action. Too bad there was not much action. If the "kid's" acting was not good, my rating would have dropped from a 5 to a 3. This is more of a kids movie than an adult movie.

5

J. J. Abrams has made his best film to date and this may be to early to say, but to me Super 8 is a masterpiece. Abrams manages to strike the perfect balance between every single element of the film and produces a truly beautiful film. The acting is first-class, the action and special effects are magnificent, and Michael Giacchino needs to win his second Oscar with this score.

10

Fantastic! Go see this movie if you are a fan of ET, Close Encounters and Stand By Me.

9
goosebumps84@ 29.9.2011   reply age: 13-17   420 reviews

What a piece of crap. The movie tried to be to much, and failed in all aspects. It tried to be supernatural but barely showed the creatures. It tried to pull at your heart strings with a tragic life story of this boy and his father but it came across only as a distraction and boring subplot. The movie take place around 12yrs which makes the movie really stupid. Kids add an unrealistic feel to it, and there's a lack of real emotion when they're scared or in action filled scenes so they tried to make up for in a 12yr romance which couldn't be more of a pathetic mistake. For Steven Spielberg to produce such crap is shocking. I would never watch this again, totally waste of time.

1

Didn't know anything about it going it and I didn't mind it but it was nothing special. Seemed like a rehash of other stories and it had a predictable sappy ending which was disappointing.

6
parker_2@ 10.9.2011   reply age: 36-49   558 reviews

Goonies, updated with better effects. It's even set in the Goonies' era... You really have to turn your mind off completely for this one to work. The plot holes are huge and it relies too much on coincidence even for a sci-fi. I didn't 'not' enjoy it, but it really could have been much better.

6
jimble@ 5.9.2011   reply age: 50+   82 reviews

Characters are EXTREMELY ANNOYING! I was hoping some of those kids would get eaten by the modern ET just so they woudn't be in the film anymore. Especially that one kid with the retainer. The plot is extremely predictable, those cubes look like they are just white Rubick's Cubes, those characters all act like they didn't graduate high school (the adults) Tisk tisk Spielberg. You know you it's time for a director to retire when...

3
ckolmatiski@ 1.9.2011   reply age: 18-25   1st review

Did not expect to like it but somehow it was okay.

7
shazjoao@ 15.8.2011   reply age: 36-49   2548 reviews