Transformers: Dark of the Moon

    Age  1-12 13-17 18-25 26-35 36-49 50+ Total
    Men 
    votes 
    9.5
    19
    9
    60
    7.5
    67
    7.2
    69
    7.2
    63
    6.5
    17
    7.8
    297
    Women 
    votes 
    9.4
    9
    8.5
    15
    8
    24
    7.1
    29
    7.4
    17
    6.5
    12
    7.7
    109
    Total 
    votes 
    9.5
    28
    8.9
    78
    7.7
    97
    7.1
    101
    7.1
    83
    6.5
    30
    7.7
    426
    *Total includes those who didn't specify gender.


    User Reviews

    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    6
    7
    8
    9
    10
    Select options to filter reviews by age and sex
    7.7
    426 reviews

    "Transformers: Dark of the Moon" is a visual spectacle, with some incredible special effects, great 3D... and a story that is nearly worthless. As with the other two "Transformers" films, the art direction and character design is inventive and these robots feel and look like actual mechanical beings from a distant, far more advanced civilization. With the 3D version, the battle scenes are well done, with laser blasts, shrapnel, dust and ships zooming towards you consistently. When there isn't stuff "blowin' up real good" though, the story drifts aimlessly. The real plot of the film isn't clearly for I’m not even sure how long and considering the 2 hr. 30 min. Running time, it starts to get quite stale while we wait for a villain or doomsday scheme or anything that might indicate when the inevitable conflict will be introduced to show up. As with the other installments, we also get plenty of bad humor; though this time it's mainly reserved to the human characters, so I hope you like seeing Shia LaBoeuf, Tyrese Gibson, Kevin Dunn, Julie White, John Malkovich and Ken Jeong acting like fools!

    More than anything else though, my biggest problem with the movie is that there aren’t any credible threats to go up against our heroes. How can we believe that anyone will truly challenge Optimus Prime (voiced by Peter Cullen) when he easily mows through rows of enemies without flinching? The guy (bot? ) can punch through an opponent! How is he supposed to lose exactly? It doesn’t help that the plot is bogged down and badly written and fails to make what should be huge stakes feel interesting. Some characters do nothing while off-screen, while other experience critical plot events off camera and useless side characters (John Turturro and his sidekick could have easily been cut) make this probably one of the worst movies that I’m not sorry to have seen in the theatre. The best way to view the film is on your 3D Blu-ray player with a synopsis printed out so you can read what the basic plot outline is, skip over the boring or bad bits and get straight to the many exciting action sequences, but I have to admit that I’m not entirely sorry I saw it on the big screen. (3D Theatrical version on the big screen, October 20, 2012)

    4/10
    adamwatchesmovies@ 1.4.2015   reply age: 26-35   348 reviews

    To be honest I wasn't expecting about this movie to be any different then the second. Same boring storyline, stupid jokes and inappropriate scenes for kids. (Like the first scene with Rosie...) this movie is meant for kids, then why the hell is there stuff totally inappropriate for kids. This is meant to be a kids movie. Michael Bay also made Optimus Prime to be a murderer which also pisses me off as well. If you wanted to see this for the action scenes. Fine go watch it but the first half was pointless. But then again this is the same director who directed Pearl Harbor.

    5/10
    inkblowout44@ 15.8.2013   reply age: 18-25   1st review

    Liked a bit more than the second one, but not as much as the first one. It will always be my favourite Transformers movie! There was tons of action. That's something you probably won't forget about this movie!

    9/10
    sollymander24@ 3.4.2013   reply age: 1-12   72 reviews

    Wow! I'm glad I saw this one in theatres! It kinda took a while till the action got developped at the beginning but funny, and full of action in the middle and end of movie! But they should've kept Megan Fox! :'(

    9/10
    ceasarwashere@ 31.12.2012   reply age: 13-17   63 reviews

    This movie is effects and product placement, that's all. The story is long and drawn out, I couldn't wait for this movie to end. The story was poor and stupid and just I don't know it seemed pointless to me. It felt like they made this movie for effects to draw people in and focused on the plot later. Worst Transformers movie in my opinion.

    5/10
    jer_duarte@ 5.7.2012   reply age: 18-25   117 reviews

    Every thing in the movie was just amazing.

    10/10
    davidkowel@ 25.2.2012   reply age: 1-12   1st review

    It was awesome, the action was incredible and the special effects were amazing. If you liked the other 2 movies you would like this for sure. Rosie Hungington whitely was amazing as the new love interest of Sam and the battle scenes were so much fun to watch and destruction in this movie wow.

    10/10

    It [is] a very good movie. The Transformers fascinate me, I watched all the movies [they're] very good action movies.

    10/10
    jes_chopper@ 13.1.2012   reply age: 26-35   1st review

    My favorite movie of all time!

    10/10
    chicagohockey@ 8.1.2012   reply age: 1-12   1st review

    It's all better now that Fox is gone and say hello to Rosie Huntington-Whiteley! LeBeouf at his best!

    10/10
    connorhw1@ 30.10.2011   reply   410 reviews

    Great special effects. Poor story. What else can I say?

    6/10
    zygoto78@ 10.10.2011   reply age: 26-35   293 reviews

    Transformers: Dark of the Moon is exactly what you expect from a film like this. It is the definition of Hollywood blockbuster and pure Michael Bay. While I’m disappointed that the film didn’t take any risks, I still liked it a lot. For all its continuity errors and corniness, Dark of the Moon still provided enough humor and badass action to be a really entertaining film.

    6/10

    In general it is a good movie but at a certain point I just found that it was too much action. Some scenes, you don't know where to look because there's so many things happening. Couple of laughing moments. The visual effects are amazing as usual. Shia is great but personally I prefer Megan Fox. The new actress doesn't have what Megan has.

    7/10

    Did not enjoy it at all. For the record I thought the first one was bad and the second was even worse. Guess if you liked the first two, you'll eat this up. The story, while okay in a nutshell, is dragged out with excuses for boring action sequences. The acting and dialogue are stiff. The extra characters for comedy are lame. The movie seems about an hour too long. But worst of all, the portrayal of Optimus Prime at the end is a travesty to his portrayal in the original cartoons.

    3/10
    parker_2@ 21.9.2011   reply age: 36-49   434 reviews

    Too long, too serious, not enough humor like the first two.

    7/10

    I was a fan of the first two and the third did not disappoint.

    7/10

    2.5 hours I won't get back. Worst time I've had in the theatre. If my sons were not glued to this film's non stop explosions, impressive effects but NOTHING else, a 3. I would have walked out after the first half hour and cut my losses. Gahhh. I even had the tv theme going through my head to remind me of what/who was fighting for what. "Transformers, more than meets the eye, transformers robots in disguise. Transformers fighting the evil forces of the decepticons"...

    3/10
    coffeebreak72@ 5.9.2011   reply age: 36-49   36 reviews

    This franchise has gone terribly sour... The first film was great, the second had its shortcomings but was still pretty good. Now this one : total failure. Shia Lebeouf is great, so is Turturo. Graphically stunning, sure. But as far a contents Dark of the Moon has little to offer. It is not a secret, these film were always filled with US Military propaganda, but Michael Mann goes too far. They should have called this one "Blowing-up-stuff 3". Don't get me wrong, I wasnt expecting incredible insight and philosophical depth from this film. I just wanted to turn my brain off and have fun. Mann can't even deliver that.

    5/10

    I loved, it was an amazing 3rd movie...

    9/10
    lovablesweetie72@ 3.9.2011   reply age: 36-49   1st review

    Movies are forms of art. This on the other hand is Michael Bay losing it on screen by using every last penny of its incredibly high budget, and using the film's budget on effects that resemble the poorest form of art. It's the combination of machines grinding together, bullets firing everywhere, buildings destructively collapsing, the main characters unbelievabely surviving continuous deadly explosions, unnecessary images of women being portrayed in innapropriate ways, the quickly rushed transitions from scene to scene, and the "eye-injuring" 3D component that makes "Transformers: Dark of the Moon" the most effects-driven blockbuster in film history, yet the poorest looking form of art imagineable. The film is like watching metal, ashes, G. I. Joe's, Transformer action figures, toy buildings, and Barbie's spinning in a dryer. It's a mess in a mess, and it's not the worst movie of the year, however, with so much CGI, this isn't even a film anymore. It's a video game with, unfortunately, no controller." Let's stop watching someone play a video game, and go see a movie."

    3/10
    redber16@ 3.9.2011   reply age: 13-17   48 reviews - one reply

    Wow! I loved this movie! The action is incredible and the visual effects are truly stellar and as always Optimus Prime steals the show! I found the movie super exciting and I was on the edge of me seat dying to know what would happen next! Definitely worth seeing and for me, definitely worth buying to complete the trilogy!

    8/10
    cascanej@ 2.9.2011   reply age: 18-25   64 reviews

    Very good movie for the kids even if it is violent. Got stuck taking a grandson to see it, thought I would have a snooze but was surprised and enjoyed it. Great special effects. Worth the money.

    8/10
    elaroc2478@ 1.9.2011   reply age: 50+   223 reviews

    It was crap, crappy storyline, crappy jokes, crappy everything. Movies like this are why some people believe all American movies are complete garbage.

    1/10
    geode90@ 30.8.2011   reply age: 18-25   1st review

    Note: The reviews posted on this page are personal opinions of our users. We are not responsible for their content.

    Did you see ''Transformers: Dark of the Moon''?

    Write a movie review and you could WIN free tickets!!! (details about the contest)

    How do you rate this movie?



    Please explain. Write your comment here:



    Sign your review:


    Your age and gender:


    Your e-mail:

    Your e-mail will remain confidential.
    We will only send a confirmation of your comment by e-mail.
    We reserve the right to reject comments at our discretion.


    Terms and Privacy Policy
    © 1996-2015 Cinema Clock® Canada Inc.
    All rights reserved.