The Hunger Games

    Age  1-12 13-17 18-25 26-35 36-49 50+ Total
    Men 
    votes 
    9.4
    28
    9.2
    81
    7.5
    46
    6.4
    84
    6.1
    99
    6.8
    73
    7.3
    412
    Women 
    votes 
    9.7
    109
    9.2
    234
    8.4
    80
    7.4
    85
    7.7
    68
    7.9
    62
    8.7
    644
    Total 
    votes 
    9.6
    146
    9.2
    341
    8
    137
    6.9
    177
    6.8
    174
    7.2
    141
    8.1
    1138
    *Total includes those who didn't specify gender.


    User Reviews

    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    6
    7
    8
    9
    10
    Select options to filter reviews by age and sex
    8.1
    1138 reviews

    Overall good movie. I enjoyed nearly as much as Battle Royale. Decent acting. Some deviation from the books but not overly significant. Not a bad tween movie.

    7/10

    "The Hunger Games" is well acted with solid characters and good art direction. If you think this is just another "people fight to the death for the audience's entertainment" film, think again. Set in a dystopian future, the country of Panem is divided in several districts, which serve the Capitol. In order to remind them of their subjugated position, each year one boy and one girl between the ages of 12 and 18 must leave their home and fight to the death in the titular Hunger Games. When Katniss Everdeen (Jennifer Lawrence) sees her sister's name chosen to participate, she volunteers to take part in the televised event in her stead. Joined by her fellow District 12-er Peeta Mellark (Josh Hutcherson), the two will have to hone their skills and use every trick at their disposal to survive.

    Jennifer Lawrence continues to deliver solid performances; if you're a fan of hers (as I am) you will be delighted to see her in a really meaty role. Katniss is full of self-doubt, but also has the courage, determination and skill to survive these games. In fact, I thought all of the other players did a convincing job, including the child actors. This means you will actually care about the characters and want to see them again (the ones that are left anyway) and when someone dies, it'll have some impact on you. Even the villains of the story have their moments of character development to show that they're not just mustache-twirling bad buys.

    An element that stands out in particular for me is the costume and art direction. To really show a clash of civilizations and the distance that this world has from ours the people of the Capitol have really outlandish costumes and manners of dressing. The costumes, hairdos, use of color, of exaggerated features (such as eyelashes that stand out way more than they should, or beards trimmed in outlandish ways) serve to show the difference between the 12 Districts and their rich oppressors, as well as to give us an idea of how far and removed from our time this story takes place. It does so without falling on typical science fiction elements like flying cars or other elements that have questionable plausibility. The costumes really feel like they could be worn by rich models and their artist friends who have nothing in the world to worry about. I could actually see some of these outlandish looks taking off and I'd welcome it. I enjoyed the "look" of this movie.

    I know you've been patiently waiting about the most controversial element; the violence. Is this going to be some kind of "Battle Royale" knockoff with teens and little girls getting slaughtered while the filmmakers wag its fingers at the audience like they did in "Gamer"? When it comes to the action and brutality just enough is shown. You see the ferocity and ugliness of these actions, without it ever going too far and feeling like an exploitation film. These are fights to the death, but they're handled tastefully and if anything, the film feels savage because you can feel the mixed emotions, or lack of hesitation in these young people and you have come to care about them as human beings because you've seen what they have gone through to get to this final battle arena, only to die while the world watches. The violence is well integrated into the story and it never feels like the movie was built around it. Even if you're not a fan of this type of film, with an audience watching as gladiators fight each other to try and win a prize, this is a smart story with good acting, some poignant drama and tasteful violence. You're sure to be itching to see more installments. (Netflix stream, January 8, 2013)

    9/10
    adamwatchesmovies@ 9.7.2015   reply age: 26-35   376 reviews

    It was absolutely nothing like the book. So if you like the book, don't go and see this as you will be let down.

    6/10

    What a turd of a film!! This is worse than those awful vampire films the kids were all about the other day!!

    1/10

    I was pleasantly surprised. Not what I expected, especially from a movie I thought was geared towards teens. Good film for what it was.

    8/10
    wesdereq@ 22.3.2014   reply age: 26-35   50 reviews

    Suspenseful throughout and good story line, keeps up to its expectation.

    8/10
    edcanova@ 6.1.2014   reply age: 50+   1st review

    This is an example that if the writers stick to the book's plot, the movie will still be successful. I'm looking at you Percy Jackson.

    9/10

    I love the Hunger Hames!!! It should be a 10/10 it is like perfect...

    10/10
    zebra_white@ 27.10.2013   reply age: 13-17   1st review

    Kids killing kids, wow what a script! Terrible acting job, such an annoying cheesy stupid movie [...]

    2/10
    lolyoublow@ 14.5.2013   reply age: 18-25   214 reviews

    This was one of the sillier movies I've seen in a while. The story was lame and the tempo was monotone. There just wasn't enough imagination to make it interesting enough to sit through for a couple of hours. My date wanted to see that movie and honestly, she was the only enjoyable thing that whole evening.

    4/10
    classical@ 12.4.2013   reply age: 36-49   61 reviews

    What a joke! It's a very simple movie with a very simple and dumb idea.

    3/10
    hockeyfan99_19@ 10.3.2013   reply age: 18-25   84 reviews

    The best movie based on an adaptation since The Vampire's Assistant came out! It's even better than the teen horror episode!

    10/10
    chw@ 20.1.2013   reply age: 1-12   337 reviews

    I absolutely ADORED this AMAZING movie, it caught my attention and the actors were fitted perfectly. Though it was a little scary or sad (rue's death) it is by FAR my favorite movie of all time. I have watched it 4 times In the cinema I have mow got on DVD. I wouldn't miss the sequels and finale movie for the world! A brilliant MUST SEE movie!!! It may not be suitable for children under 10 unfortunately:(

    10/10
    alscott@ 13.1.2013   reply age: 13-17   2 reviews

    I watched this movie for free on Netflix. I never wanted to see this movie as I thought it would be bad. Normally when I have such low expectations I am pleasantly surprised. Not this time. This movie was based on a very stupid premise which was overly simplistic. The acting was wooden and I could have cared less for any of the characters or whether they lived or died. The action was boring and virtually non-existent. I must have fallen asleep as it did not make sense to me that the two main characters even liked each other, yet alone fell in love somehow. This movie makes the Twilight series seem like Shakespeare. It can only be described as dumb. Yet I see over 1100 reviews on here with an average rating of 8.2? I am literally scratching my head as to how this could be. [...]

    2/10
    rodneywareham@ 11.1.2013   reply age: 50+   232 reviews

    I read the books before seeing this movie, and thought there was some special parts in the book that weren't in the movie and it took long before the games started but it's a really good movie once you get into it. Jennifer Lawrence really makes a good Katniss! Cant wait for Catching Fire! :)

    8/10
    ceasarwashere@ 16.12.2012   reply age: 13-17   63 reviews

    Because it is like the best movie EVER and I just loved it so much and I can't wait for the second one.

    10/10
    eriksen9@ 16.11.2012   reply age: 13-17   2 reviews

    Incredibly tedious and uninteresting. I have stopped going to movies now and wait for the TV release to watch in comfort of my home. A lot less expensive and 100% more comfortable. Poor movie.

    4/10

    I don't see on what basis that majority of the people say that it is an awesome movie. Who gets their kicks out of seeing kids killing kids, especially, hunting them down like animals (morbid movie storyline that I doubt kids will truly understand aside that it is cool and has violence on the surface) Should have remained as a book.

    1/10
    discover@ 3.9.2012   reply age: 36-49   1st review

    It was alright. Katniss is portrayed as more plain and less beautiful in the books so her transformation is more drastic. She is also a lot more difficult in the books so the movie does keep you on the edge of your seat waiting to see if she is going to screw things up.

    7/10
    veschell@ 29.8.2012   reply age: 18-25   1st review

    I was a bit disappointed, and didn't understand how Hunger got such a high score. Then I noticed it's basically a tween movie. My mistake. It's not bad, yet pretty predictable.

    6/10
    zygoto78@ 27.8.2012   reply age: 26-35   293 reviews

    Note: The reviews posted on this page are personal opinions of our users. We are not responsible for their content.

    Did you see ''The Hunger Games''?

    Write a movie review and you could WIN free tickets!!! (details about the contest)

    How do you rate this movie?



    Please explain. Write your comment here:



    Sign your review:


    Your age and gender:


    Your e-mail:

    Your e-mail will remain confidential.
    We will only send a confirmation of your comment by e-mail.
    We reserve the right to reject comments at our discretion.


    Terms and Privacy Policy
    © 1996-2015 Cinema Clock® Canada Inc.
    All rights reserved.