The Age of Ignorance

    Age  1-12 13-17 18-25 26-35 36-49 50+ Total
    Men 
    votes 
    -
    0
    -
    0
    -
    0
    10
    1
    8
    1
    9.2
    5
    9.1
    7
    Women 
    votes 
    -
    0
    -
    0
    6
    1
    5
    1
    6
    1
    1
    1
    4.5
    4
    Total 
    votes 
    -
    0
    -
    0
    6
    1
    7.5
    2
    7
    2
    7.8
    6
    7.5
    11
    *Total includes those who didn't specify gender.


    User Reviews

    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    6
    7
    8
    9
    10
    Select options to filter reviews by age and sex
    7.5
    11 reviews

    Bravo, a masterpiece! Fine performance, no crudeness but sophistication instead. While it has it's many funny moments, I would not call it a comedy - too close w view on life. Never a boring moment, with some hope.

    10/10

    A pleasant surprise. I look forward to seeing the first two films.

    10/10
    petermccomber@ 4.4.2008   reply age: 50+   1st review

    A wonderfully philosophical film, with humor interspersed with poignant moments. Inner peace can only be found by being honest and true to oneself.

    8/10
    codogno@ 24.3.2008   reply age: 36-49   225 reviews - one reply

    I found L'Âge des ténèbres to be an extraordinary film. Blending a subtle mixture of comedy and poignant observations on everyday life, it presents a devastating critique of the lifestyle that many of us have chosen and the role of government institutions in our society. Tenderly, in the last frames of the movie, it offers a vision of an alternative, fully conscious way of life. A way of life that is embedded in the here and now, and is not dependent on superficial fantasies, prevailing social norms and fashions, or rudderless striving. The acting is first rate. It is a film that rewards viewers who allow themselves to sit back and let the words and images wash through them, reverberating with their own emotions and experiences. It is an enriching film and, perhaps, the best of the series of excellent films that Denys Arcand has produced.

    9/10
    david.brown@ 30.12.2007   reply age: 50+   1st review

    I enjoyed it. Don't look too deep. It was a lot of fun in a Walter Mitty sort of way.

    7/10
    lindsay@ 28.12.2007   reply age: 50+   2 reviews - one reply

    This film was long overdue. It just confirms how much I (as a franco) want to flee the Quebec matriarchal society. Great movie to see!

    10/10
    john@ 14.12.2007   reply age: 26-35   1st review

    So disappointing. Does not even come close to measuring up to his other films. Mediocre at best. Not smart and not funny. The catharsis is anemic. The jokes and the premise are unoriginal. The hero is unsympathetic. It appears that the rich famous and acclaimed director is taking a revenge on the everyman by mocking them in a rather unintelligent and unamusing way. An unpleasant waste of time, in my opinion.

    5/10
    yuletchka@ 11.12.2007   reply age: 26-35   7 reviews - one reply

    Pure crap, I should ask Arcand to give me my money back. Pure nonsense and exaggeration.

    1/10
    sherbrook57@ 10.12.2007   reply age: 50+   1st review - one reply

    ATTENTION: This review reveals content of the movie.
    Not bad, could be much, MUCH, better. You win some, you lose some. Just because I didn’t like this film does not mean I don’t admire Arcand’s other works – this film needed proper editing, tightening up…I mean, it was not focused – for over an hour we watch the hero do nothing, but even doing nothing can be better told (“leaving las vegas”?!). It was devoid of emotion, sure. It was devoid of even gloom. The hero was a zero, blank to the outside world and full of colour and life in his imaginary world. I just found so inappropriate and uninspiring, the multitude attempts to comic relief which dominated the film in lieu of dealing with the hero’s gloom. Chute de ciment, masks, cold and frustrating gov’t assistance, prejudice on immigrant’s husband, speed dating, cell phones, tail-gaiting, the roof of the olympic stadium... it just slapped together everything but the kitchen sink an escape from telling of the actual story. The plot itself is a good idea, universal, I can relate, but it was not developed. No layers. The story was cheap. It is not a well told story, you do not fall into it at all. With few exceptions it was surface stuff. The funniest parts were in the trailer.

    6/10
    shiatsuzone@ 9.12.2007   reply age: 36-49   1st review

    The best I have ever seen of Denys Arcand. Uncompromising, masterful, painfully true to life in the West.

    10/10
    krassimir.krastev@ 8.12.2007   reply age: 50+   1st review - one reply

    This movie is better than the critics say. I give it 6.5/10.

    6/10
    cote@ 1.12.2007   reply age: 18-25   1st review

    Note: The reviews posted on this page are personal opinions of our users. We are not responsible for their content.

    Did you see ''The Age of Ignorance''?

    Write a movie review and you could WIN free tickets!!! (details about the contest)

    How do you rate this movie?



    Please explain. Write your comment here:



    Sign your review:


    Your age and gender:


    Your e-mail:

    Your e-mail will remain confidential.
    We will only send a confirmation of your comment by e-mail.
    We reserve the right to reject comments at our discretion.


    Terms and Privacy Policy
    © 1996-2015 Cinema Clock® Canada Inc.
    All rights reserved.