Taking Lives
13+

Taking Lives

Action thriller with Angelina Jolie & Ethan Hawke 1h43m 7.284
Age  1-12 13-17 18-25 26-35 36-49 50+ Total
Men 
votes 
10
1
7.8
6
7.7
9
5.7
16
6
8
-
0
6.6
40
Women 
votes 
-
0
9.2
10
7.5
17
6.8
12
6.7
7
6
4
7.5
50
Total 
votes 
10
1
8.7
16
7.5
27
6
30
6.3
15
6
4
7
93
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
Select options to filter reviews by age and sex
7.0
93

This movie made me think what would society be like if there was no crime. Well, I think there are still other major problems like being forced to do a repedative job, having poor health, and about 598 other things that have little or nothing to do with crime. The movie was OK, if you dont mind seeing assorted grueseomeness. Not a bad story line, if you dont mind a major flip flop of the films direction near the end. Not bad if you dont mind the subplot which says artists are not who they say they are, sort of... See my suspension of disbelief suspended. Plus it was filmed in Quebec City and in the movie they said it was Montreal. I thought this came out before 2004... well, maybe not I spose. Not mild stuff.

5

I love this movie because it is suspencefull and has a great twist to it. [...]

10
islandboy28@ 14.1.2006   reply age: 13-17   2 reviews

I was expecting more,.. kind of predictable... specially the ending..

6
joblagdon@ 1.12.2004   reply age: 50+   255 reviews

Good suspense thriller with a good ending. Ethan Hawkes best performance yet. It's not as predictable as mentioned by other review's. I'm glad the guy did'nt get back up in the end, now that would be predictable. A must see.

8

ATTENTION: This review reveals content of the movie.
The "Not Bad" part of this movie is the basic storyline. The "Could be much better" part is how a certain plot twist turns Jolie's strong, self-sufficient investigator character into a total wimp, and then almost maniacally obsesive. There are also some rather strange plot devices that are less than likely. The worst things though, are using Quebec City as a substitute for Montreal, expecting us to believe that all Montreal detectives are from Europe.

6

Lots of action and suspense. The movie has you on the edge of your seat and was intrigued with the ending. Lots of pictures of mangled faces, not good for kids to see..

7

The beginning hook was very dramatic and I thought I was in for a good thriller but then the movie just got totally confusing. There could've been a story here but the director had no clue how to convey this story to the audience. Zero character development, Jolie was totally miscast as the expert crime investigator. Of course she became an expert CSI because of some childhood trama that she explains thru her pouting lips. Her lips were the only thing that stopped me from falling asleep watching this movie. The plot takes some really strange twists in the 3rd act that didn't make any sense whatsoever. Taking Lives took two hours of mine and my money, don't let it take yours!

2
emanmark666@ 23.8.2004   reply age: 36-49   91 reviews

This movie was great, it's full of suspense and it's a must see for people who like thrillers.

10
a_mclaughlin07@ 18.8.2004   reply age: 13-17   3 reviews

Unfortunately this movie did not have what it takes to be a hit and therefore it was never a hit. I was pretty dissapointed at how it was produced. All of it is even amplified by a poor understanding of the U. S. producers of what Montreal is all about, the French from France accents were just too much. The movie is very cliché and you kind of know what to expect will come next. There is no real suspense and very, very few surprises. Angelina Jolie's play was among the highlights of this movie. Overall, the movie comes across as plastic, cliché and kind of *I have seen that movie a 1000 times outta which 800 times was better* Recommended only for hardcore fans of the featured actors but not to the public as a whole.

3

Wonderful suspense movie. Surprising and original ending. Jolie and Hawke are GREAT!! Really liked location of filming (Montreal-Quebec) Starts off slow but really builds-up and ends with a Bang!!! You never expect what will happen. Excellent!!

9
akehyayan@ 30.5.2004   reply age: 36-49   1st review

Disapointing movie that could have been bether. Wierd movie with a good start. Sorry Angelina, sleeping in a crypt to understand the crime, not to keen on that! The only good fact about this movie is that it was filmed in québec!!!

5

I thought "Taking Lives" was really suspenseful. There were a few scenes that made me jump. The movie's plot was great, the action non-stop, and the climax was satisfying. This flick was definitely worth my time and money. Two thumbs up.

9
crisperguy33@ 9.5.2004   reply age: 36-49   113 reviews

It was a really good movie... I screamed my head off! Go see it!

9

An insult to our intelligence! Nothing else to add...

1

My english teachers in it! Its ok I guess, not that scary and really predictable.

6
funktion2992@ 6.5.2004   reply age: 13-17   1st review

I really must stop watching these predictable and formulaic Hollywood movies. I can’t decide if it is more boring or more irritating. Here’s a question: Why does a police agent (FBI) from the United States take a leading role in investigating an entirely Canadian crime? Did the film makers believe that the great unwashed of the USA could not understand a situation in which their government was not in control?

3

The bad thing about this movie is the trailers. Their was two punch scenes that was suppose to make people jump, but because of the trailer I knew that the killer was under the bed when Jolie was thinking on the bed. Other bad point is that the movie is made in a slow motion way, meaning theirs a lot of images who is not needed in the movie.

6
silverpepsiguy@ 4.5.2004   reply age: 26-35   88 reviews

A very obvious ending, slow plot, with little suspense. Surprisingly worse than what we expected.

6

Despite being filmed mainly in Quebec City although the setting was Montreal and the accents were French not Quebecois, I was pleasantly suprised. The movie had a few "jump out of your seat" moments. Also, I did not find it entirely predictably. Overall, it was an entertaining movie.

7

Acting is nothing spectacular and the movie is pretty predictable (I knew who the killer was as soon as I saw him) but the twist at the end caught me off guard. The movie was scarier than I was anticipating, but a lot of the "scary parts" where when the killer just pops out of nowhere. I'm giving it a 7 because it is a good movie worth seeing but as the 6/10 states, not bad could be much better.

7

TAKING LIVES was exceellenT!! @!! It is the best yet for Angelina Jolie! Exquisite! Masterpeice... Words can't describe how excellent it is... You MUAST SEE IT!

10

Saw this movie with my adult "thriller-loving" daughter and we were both gasping and jumping in our seats. Maybe not the most cerebral movie but we really enjoyed it.

7
lecomte@ 9.4.2004   reply age: 50+   1st review

As a Montrealer, I kept criticizing the incoherent elements of the movie. First, why would the Chateau de Frontenac be in Mtl? Second, why would local people talk with a french accent? This being said, if you aren't a perfectionnist viewer, you would enjoy this movie despite its context flaws. It turned out to be scarier than I expected, which is how a thriller's supposed to be after all.

7
forgetmenot398@ 9.4.2004   reply age: 18-25   2 reviews

Good film, but many questions without answers. I was expecting more of Angelina Jolie, definitively this movie does't deserve more than 6 out of 10..

6
crsecant@ 5.4.2004   reply age: 26-35   1st review

Sure to be one of the best movies of 2004 - a definite must see! Jolie plays an amazing part, and although the movie is slightly predictable, it will still be a surprise at the end!

10

Note: Reviews posted on this page reflect personal opinions of our users. We are not responsible for their content.

Did you see ''Taking Lives''?

Add your rating here and you could WIN free tickets!!!

How do you rate this movie?

Select stars from 1 to 10.
10 - A masterpiece, go, see it now
9 - Excellent movie, a must see
8 - Great movie, don't miss it
7 - Good movie, worth seeing
6 - Not bad, could be much better
5 - So so, worth if you don't pay
4 - Not good, even if you don't pay
3 - Poor movie, not recommended
2 - Very bad, forget about it
1 - Worst ever, avoid at all costs


Please explain. Write your comment here:



Sign your review:


Your age and gender:


Your e-mail:

Your e-mail address will remain confidential.
We will send a confirmation of your comment by e-mail.
We publish all reviews, except abusive, at our discretion.

Terms and Privacy Policy
© 1996-2016 Cinema Clock® Canada Inc.
All rights reserved.
About Ad Blockers
We agree. You are not here to view ads. The problem is that we have no choice.

Technically, Adblockers explicitly modify the intended functionality of a website. They are not perfect, and unfortunately they interfere by blocking or disabling parts of our website which are not even related to ads.

And even more important is the fact that we wouldn't exist without advertising. It is the only source of revenue to keep this website free. Accepting to see ads on our website is a very small price to pay to show appreciation for our work. And it's a lot of work to maintain a website like ours.

Please support us by “whitelisting” or “allowing” ads on our website.

Thank you :-)



Click here after whitelisting our website
Thank you!